The governnment of Jamaica

Junction Ballard’s Valley Triumphs as SDC National Community T20 Parish Champions of St. Elizabeth


Junction Ballard’s Valley reclaimed the title of SDC National Community T20 Parish Champions for St. Elizabeth after a commanding performance against rivals Junction Bull Savanna at the Manley Horn Sports Complex on Sunday, June 9.

In front of an eager crowd, Junction Ballard’s Valley captain Damian Ebanks won the toss and elected to bat. The decision seemed questionable when Allen Powell and Howard Powell were quickly dismissed, leaving their team at 8 for 2. However, a resilient partnership between Odane Binns, a prodigious batsman from St Elizabeth Technical High School, and Andre McCarthy, a newly minted Jamaica Schoolboys all-rounder, turned the tide.

Under the watchful eye of his grandfather, Member of Parliament Franklin Witter, the 15-year-old Binns displayed remarkable composure, scoring 28 off 31 balls before his dismissal. McCarthy led the charge with a top score of 67, while Ebanks added a quick 23 not out from 15 balls, bringing their total to a formidable 167 for 6. Demar Mindley and national youth representative Echony Robinson took two wickets each, with figures of 2 for 15 and 2 for 31, respectively.

Chasing 168, Junction Bull Savanna had a promising start as Craig Walters hit a four and a six off the first two balls from former West Indies fast bowler Darren Powell. However, their momentum quickly faded, and the innings unraveled. Walters, along with Rayon Smith, both scored 15, but no other batsman could offer significant resistance, with Christopher Dyer being the only other player to reach double figures with 13. Junction Bull Savanna’s innings ended at 90 all out, conceding a 77-run victory to Junction Ballard’s Valley.

Lennox Simpson was the standout bowler with 4 for 17, supported by Troy Powell (2 for 14) and Sherfon Allen (2 for 8). Junction Ballard’s Valley not only secured the championship but also a prize of $120,000, with 15% dedicated to a community project. Junction Bull Savanna received $60,000 for their second-place finish.

In the third-place game earlier in the day, Greenfield Watchwell achieved an 8-wicket victory over Quickstep. Quickstep, playing a man short, were dismissed for 109 in 15 overs. Fitzroy Ellison top-scored with 41, while Marvin Linton (4 for 17) and Romain Ritchie (3 for 15) led the bowling effort. Quickstep was further penalized 10 runs for lacking a second schoolboy player, reducing their target to 100.

Greenfield Watchwell comfortably chased the target, reaching 100 for 2 in 10.2 overs, with Shane Williams scoring a rapid 34 off 12 balls, and Steven Marrett holding the innings together with 19 not out. They were awarded $30,000 for their third-place finish.

Other teams that topped their respective parishes and will move on to represent their parish in the national phase of the competition are as follows:

  • Thomas: Johnson Mountain
  • Portland: Port Antonio Fire
  • Mary: Gayle C.C.
  • Ann 2: Content Gardens
  • Ann: Links United
  • Trelawny: Troy CDC
  • James: Greenpond
  • Hanover: Elgin Town
  • Westmoreland: Whitehouse
  • Elizabeth: Junction Ballard’s Valley
  • Manchester: Fairfield
  • Manchester 2: South Star United
  • Clarendon: May Pen Lions
  • Catherine: Old Harbour
  • Catherine 2: Bridgeport
  • Kingston & St. Andrew: Richmond Park

The first round-robin match-ups in the national phase of the competition will take place on Sunday, June 16, 2024, at the following venues:

  • Chedwin Park Cricket Ground in St. Catherine
  • The Ultimate Oval in St. Ann
  • The Trelawny Multipurpose Stadium in Trelawny
  • The French Park Oval in Manchester.



More News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

four − one =