The governnment of Jamaica

May Pen Lions and Junction Ballards Valley Claim Victories as the National Phase of SDC National Community T20 Cricket Kicks Off


The National Phase of the SDC National Community T20 Cricket competition began with a thrilling doubleheader at the cool French Park Oval in Manchester on Sunday, June 16.

In the opening match, Junction Ballards Valley of St. Elizabeth narrowly defeated Manchester’s Fairfield by 3 runs. Batting first, Junction posted an impressive 187 for 7 in their 20 overs. Andre McCarty, who recently debuted for the Jamaica Scorpions, led the charge with a sublime 56. Diane Binns of St. Elizabeth Technical High School supported with 38 runs, while David Powell added 24. Fairfield’s bowlers, Adrian Silvera and Rosario Marshall, took three wickets each, with figures of 3 for 28 and 3 for 56, respectively.

Fairfield, former National Champions, mounted a spirited chase but fell short at 179 for 8. Jamie Merchant top-scored with 35, followed by Jamaine Morgan with 34 and Javed Williams with 31. David Powell shone for Junction with 3 for 34, while former West Indies fast bowler Darren Powell claimed 2 for 32.

In the second game, May Pen Lions dominated South Stars United, winning by 9 wickets on the Duckworth-Lewis method. South Stars struggled to 103 all out in 18.4 overs, with Javardi Francis scoring 20 and Kashane McDaniel 18. Veteran Krishmar Santokie was the standout bowler for May Pen, taking 4 for 23.

Rain affected the match, reducing May Pen’s target to 78 from 15 overs. Odaine McCatty’s unbeaten 41 and Tieno Osbourne’s 26 not out saw May Pen Lions comfortably home at 78 for 1 in just 8.3 overs.

The National Phase continues this weekend with round robin two match-up, June 23, 2024, with feature games at Eden Park Sports Complex, Jacks Hill, St. Mary, and matches at UWI Mona Bowl, in St. Andrew, Paradise Sport Ground in Westmoreland, and Manley Horne Cricket Ground in St. Elizabeth.


More News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 × four =